One Good Thing

I’ve heard people express that life is like a rollercoaster. Sometimes you have the ups, and sometimes you have the downs. I have even felt this way before.

However, I once heard someone talk about rollercoaster tracks themselves, and not the hills and valleys. They said that life is like the two tracks of a rollercoaster. On one track are all the good things that are happening in your life; the other track is the not-so-good things. Both tracks are present all the time, but it is up to us which track we focus on.

I have tried to be intentional in focusing on that good track, even during some bad times in my life. I believe Chuck Swindoll was correct when he said, “I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it.” By focusing on the good track, I can also react better, so a win-win all the way around.

I’ve even changed the way I talk. My wife and I used to joke that if it wasn’t for bad luck, we wouldn’t have any. Now I am more apt to say that today is going to be an awesome day, because I don’t know how to have bad days.

This past week was especially good for me as we had Spirit Week at our school. Granted, being an online school, we cannot see everyone in their spirit gear at the same location, but our marketing team housed a collection of pictures of our students (and staff) participating remotely all over the globe.

I didn’t participate everyday (one was dress up as your dream job — I do that everyday!), but the more fun ones I did participate in were Crazy Hair Day and Mismatch Day.

Yes, there are five “pony tails” in the crazy hair day photo. Yes, I think it is important that we as educators teach our students content, but it is just as important to develop relationships with them. Having fun together is one way to do that.

All that to say, it was another awesome week (and next week will be awesome, too). Getting to have fun with our students was just one good part of that awesomeness.

Standard

6 thoughts on “One Good Thing

  1. Love your Crazy Hair day! I also like the idea of the roller coaster tracks being the good and bad things in life. I do notice that when I am trying to “catch” my students being good they behave so much better. I wonder if that’s because that is what I am focusing on?

    Like

    • Andrew, I hadn’t heard that quote from Hamlet, but I like it as I think it applies to more than just “happenings.”

      For example, a brick is neither good nor bad. But we can throw it through a window making it bad, or use it to build a hospital making it good.

      Like

  2. Congrats on a great post and on having great fun this week! I agree that having fun with students is something that I should definitely appreciate much more — thanks for the reminder!

    Like

    • “I agree that having fun with students is something that I should definitely appreciate much more…”

      A new week starts tomorrow… Maybe challenge youself to engage and have fun with them this week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

