Kicking off the 2016 Blogging Initiative

I have been toying with the idea of blogging, not so much because I feel I have a lot to say, but because I enjoy reading the blogs of others. I do believe in the C.A.S.E. method of teaching (Copy And Steal Everything), because I know I am not as smart or as creative as others, but I also believe that if I take, I should also give.

The MTBoS (Math Twitter Blogosphere) is having a blogging initiative starting January 2016. I am also reading a book I received for Christmas called The Innovator’s Mindset. In chapter 3 (Characteristics of the Innovators Mindset), George Couros writes,

When students come to school, we continually tell them, “You need to share!” because we know the great benefits to their learning. Educators would all benefit if we decided to take our own advice. One way we can do that is through blogs. If you’re thinking, “I’m not a writer,” consider this: every opportunity to share with others on a global scale makes you think more deeply about what it is that you are sharing in the first place.

Those two ideas together gave me the desire to start this blog. We’ll see where it leads us! I’m looking forward to the journey.

Standard

Leave a Reply

